Room 313

adventures in teaching creative writing

Tour my House through Books

Do you stash books throughout your house like me? I started thinking about all my book stacks in my condo and decided to make a video, showing off all my books and talking about some of them. I just used my iPhone to record, and I had a hard time getting the video to upload to YouTube. I wanted to use the highest quality setting, but it somehow ended up as a basic quality. Throughout the video, you’ll hear my phone alerts go off twice. I wish I had thought to silence my phone before I started recording. This video is in fact a second draft. My first recording was shakier than this one, and I walked into dark rooms, realizing I should have already turned the lights on.

I think I might use the Vine app tomorrow to show off which books my English students are reading. Vine is a lot easier to use than YouTube. I might use Instagram instead, since it now has a video option, and I can post Instagram to both Facebook and Twitter. Plus, you can record more seconds in Instagram.

Enjoy my book tour!

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Tour my House through Books

  1. What a great idea! I actually have some books in common with yours–The Other Wes Moore, The Worst Hard Time, Loud and Clear (I love Anna Quindlen!) 19 Minutes (I love MOST of Jodi Picoult’s books), Blue Plate Special (just checked it out from the library last week–haven’t gotten to it yet) . . . there may have been more, but those are the ones I remember. And–I love that you still have Golden Books from your childhood! Nice post!

  2. Darlene on said:

    EVERY teacher should read “Nineteen Minutes!” Please finish it, Jason; it is one that will stay with you for days! Loved the video!! I even looked at my own phone when I heard yours alert you!!! Haha

  3. Sherri Gleaves on said:

    Enjoyed your tour! Hopefully I can get a book read soon!

  4. Dian Sultzbach on said:

    I definitely remember hearing “My Nasty Stinky Sneakers!” Also, I’ve been trying to remember “The Westing Game” for years! I remember loving it, but could never remember the title! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

